Illustration Wednesday

More character experiments today.  Am playing with the profile and accompanying expressions of a lead character from the junior novel I’m developing through the mentorship.  She went through many different stages (and hair styles) in trying to capture a look that best defined her personality, but I think this one finally works.  Am also learning to sketch using my wacom tablet.  Luckily for me I like a loose sketchy line, because I can’t control it enough yet to get a smooth one!  I just dropped some paper behind the sketches to give an impression of her colouring.

2009-02-10

I noticed today that I’ve been listening to a lot of musical sound tracks while I draw.  Chess.  Les Miserables.  Wicked (which I saw recently while in London and am a little obsessed with).  I think it’s because the music has a clear narrative thread, which as a writer I particularly enjoy, and as an illustrator it keeps me thinking about characterisation.  How characters change and grow.  Either that or I’m just a bit of musical nerd.  Always have been I’m afraid.  Can’t get enough of them.

4 Responses to “Illustration Wednesday”


  1. 1 Sheryl Gwyther February 15, 2009 at 9:46 am

    I have to say I’m very drawn to the third drawing you have here, kath, the one with her hair pulled back in a tie at the back. I’m interested in watching you use the wacom tablet – I’ve heard about it but never seen it in action.

  2. 2 Katherine Battersby February 16, 2009 at 12:20 pm

    Hi Sheryl! It’s always interesting to me to hear which images speak most to people. Andrew’s favourite is the fourth one (where she’s looking down) whereas the one I’m most happy with is the first (side profile). And I’ll have to show you the wacom tablet next time you’re over – you’ll have to have a play with it!

  3. 3 Madeline Stephenson March 24, 2009 at 8:15 am

    Did I mention before that I was jealous? This time it’s because you can physically see your characters while you’re writing. I just have to make them up in my head and hope they stay the same. :)

  4. 4 Katherine Battersby March 26, 2009 at 8:37 am

    Ha! It certainly does make it easier for me in ways. If I get stuck with my writing, I can move to illustrating, and the story and characters often grow in unexpected ways as I draw them. But on the drawback, I’m trying to develop skills in two completely different areas (writing and illustrating) to a professional level, and often feel torn between the two!


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

