A Little Bit of Silliness

As I mentioned the other day, I’m currently working on a new rabbit picture book (not related to Squish Rabbit). I didn’t plan to do another rabbit book, but I suppose when there are always rabbits in my head it’s hard not to let them take over – they’re constantly bumping into other thoughts and sparking new ideas. That said, the main character isn’t actually a rabbit. Or at least he sort of isn’t. It’s hard to explain.

The idea came from an old uni assignment (interestingly enough, so did Squish). In my web design course I had to create a basic home page that linked to the four assignments I’d completed over the semester. Most people did a home page with reasonably generic buttons, however I wanted to do something that reflected my personality. Of course, it had to have rabbits. And so began the first stumbling idea that is now a picture book called ‘Rabbity George’.

I have put the original home page up on my website, although the buttons are now linked to a bit of silliness instead of my ancient assignments. Hop on over to my website if you’d like to check it out, and just look for the above image to find it. While you’re there, see if you can pick which rabbit is George, and why it is that he doesn’t always feel very rabbity…

11 Responses to “A Little Bit of Silliness”


  1. 1 Sandy Fussell February 19, 2010 at 4:00 pm

    I see George’s problem *smile* but he is gorgeous and that should solve everything. Just goes to show you can never have too many rabbits – there is always one more variation on the theme out there!

  2. 2 chrisbongers February 19, 2010 at 4:40 pm

    Damn, that is too cute. Clicking on those little fellas was a hoot. (And very enlightening.) xx

  3. 3 Lynne Green February 19, 2010 at 5:33 pm

    I’d pick all four. All very (((hug)))able.

  4. 4 Lynn Ward February 19, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    So much fun! I would love to be able to do what you do Katherine :)

  5. 6 Karen Tyrrell February 20, 2010 at 7:08 am

    Hi Katherine,
    I LOVE your updated Site. It was great pressing all those BUNNY BUTTONS and discovering more about you. Your short story in the anthology must be coming out soon, is that right? Cheers, Karen :))

  6. 7 Katherine Battersby February 20, 2010 at 10:29 am

    I’m glad people seem to be enjoying my sideways sense of humour! I’m really looking forward to working some more on this pb – they’re fun characters.

    Karen, I believe the anthology is coming out in April. All very exciting – can’t wait to get my copies…

  7. 8 Sheryl Gwyther February 21, 2010 at 7:40 am

    You clever thing! They have such different personalities already, don’t they? :)

  8. 9 Katherine Battersby February 21, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Thanks Sheryl. They certainly do have very distinct personalities in my mind, so it’s always lovely to hear that it has translated to paper!

  9. 10 Joanna Gaudry February 22, 2010 at 10:13 am

    A wonderful website and blog — one of my favourite writers’ sites (both blog and website). Terrific advice again as always and simply sublime design and illustrations, Katherine. Wow! You are incredibly gifted. Congratulations. Joanna :))

  10. 11 Katherine Battersby February 22, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Thanks for all your lovely words, Joanna. So glad to hear you’re enjoying my sites – it’s feedback like that that motivates to keep them updated and fresh :)


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

