Illustration Workshop

At this year’s Whitsunday Voices Youth Literature Festival I’ll be doing a series of talks for all different ages. I’m super excited, as getting the chance to connect with my audience is easily one of the most joyous parts of being a children’s writer and illustrator.

I’ll be doing several book talks with grades 2-5, where I’ll discuss the role of author / illustrator, read Squish Rabbit and talk about how the story and characters developed. I’ll also read my story Monster Music, teach the kids how to draw some of the characters and together we’ll create our own monster. Can’t wait to see the results!

I’ll also be doing a series of illustration workshops with grades 5-8 and 9-12, for those specifically interested in art. In these I’ll read my short story Haunted (from the anthology Short and Scary) and discuss how an illustrator would go about illustrating such a tale. Together we’ll then illustrate a single scene from the story, using collage and mixed media. We’ll also be making our own textured paper, using paint, oil pastels and certain tools. Yesterday I had a go at making the scene myself, which you can see below. There were some happy accidents, like the trees’ canopy – I had intended to keep the image limited to the rectangular canvas, but before folding back the overhanging trees I realised I quite liked them the way they were. I also figured out a few tricks in speeding up the whole process, and even discovered how not to do certain bits…

It should be fun. Kids are so creative, and I love hearing all their big ideas. I also know high school artists are incredibly talented, and am fully prepared for many of them to be better at drawing than me!

PS. The competition in the last post is still open, so remember to comment if you want a chance to win…

6 Responses to “Illustration Workshop”


  1. 1 Lynn July 7, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    ooohhh this is gorgeous. I love the textures and the colours and wish I could be there for the workshop! I can act between 9 and 12, honest I can. You will be a star attraction. As will your characters. See you soon. xxx

  2. 2 Tina C July 8, 2010 at 6:34 pm

    Hey Katherine

    Wow you are planning an interesting workshop – the kids up there are going to so spoilt by you!

    Looks great – have fun.

    See ya soon.

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  3. 3 Emilie July 13, 2010 at 5:21 pm

    hi, I’m a student from Whitsunday Anglican School. I’m one of the girls helping you around the place on Friday. Can’t wait. :)

  4. 4 Janeen Brian July 13, 2010 at 6:12 pm

    love your enthusiasm!!

    janeen
    x

  5. 5 Katherine Battersby July 14, 2010 at 9:31 am

    Hi Emilie – thanks for stopping by. I’ll definitely be needing your help getting around, as I’m sure the school has changed heaps since I was there! Really looking forward to meeting you.

    Thanks Lynn, Tina and Janeen. I know I’m going to have a blast.

  6. 6 Jeffery E Doherty January 30, 2011 at 11:39 am

    Great blog post. It would have been fun to visit the workshop if I lived closer.

    You have developed some wonderful characters.

    Jeff


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

