Falling off the Wagon

So it seems I’ve fallen off the blogging wagon. Considering it’s been over a month since I’ve posted, I suppose you could even say I was catapulted from the rickety wagon. In fact it feels a little like I crashed the darn thing. Life has been a bit hectic of late, both within my work and personal life. But I wont patronise you with excuses – instead I’ll offer up a (hopefully) placating summary of my last month:

  • Worked on final edits of Squish Rabbit, who is about to hop off to the printers
  • Embarked on an interstate move from cold and rainy Adelaide to cold and rainy Brisbane (why do I always take the weather with me?)
  • Volunteered at Brisbane’s CYA conference – for a more eloquent summary of the day than I could write, go visit Kathleen Noud
  • QWC featured Squish on the cover of their Writing Queensland magazine – you can download a desktop version of the image here
  • Attended Australia/NZs international SCBWI conference in Sydney (and got a little merry with all the lovely children’s writers/illustrators and publishers) – visit Chris Cheng’s blog for a great summary
  • Featured as guest blogger on Katrina Germain’s blog for a father’s day special in celebration of her delightful new picture book ‘My Dad Thinks He’s Funny
  • Missed out on weeks worth of sleep and then struggled in vain to catch up

There’s my attempt to resurrect the wagon of my blog. So am I forgiven?

5 Responses to “Falling off the Wagon”


  1. 1 Karen Tyrrell September 25, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Hi Katherine,
    Of course you are forgiven.
    Thanks for giving us a run-down of what you’ve been doing.
    No wonder you haven’t had time to blog with All That.
    Are you back in Brissie for good?
    Wishing you every success … Karen T.

  2. 2 Lynn September 25, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Well…you have been a bit of a ghost girl of late but totally understandable. Good to have you back in Bris.

  3. 3 Tina C September 27, 2010 at 3:26 pm

    Ok if we must forgive you we will!!!!

    Of course we do – silly question!!!

    I know I am simply glad you are home again in Sunny Brisbane and can I can catch up with you more often again – I missed you when you went to Adelaide!

    Now…how about lunch?(As pooh Bear would say!)

    Bye 4now
    Tina

  4. 4 Sheryl Gwyther September 28, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    Of course, we forgive you, Kath! How about a catch up soon on my back deck? I’ll make us a scrumptious salad? :P

  5. 5 Katrina Germein October 2, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    Adelaide will miss you but I’m sure there are lots of people in Brisbane very happy to have you back. Squish Rabbit off to the printers! Hooray! Sounds like you have lots of wonderful things happening. Don’t forget to stop and enjoy them xxx


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

