Overactive Mind

Rabbit - lonelyI wish I could go back to that teacher that said I was a daydreamer.  She wrote it on my report card like it was a bad thing.  She also said I never had my mind on the task.  Well I’d argue that I did, just not solely on the task she deemed important at that exact moment.  While I was solving the maths problem she had put in front of me, I also may have been:

  1. Watching the boy outside on the monkey bars a) wondering what was he doing out of school, and b) developing an emergency plan if he were to fall and land on his head
  2. Thinking about hockey training that afternoon, including what I wanted to achieve and what my coach expected of me
  3. Planning the homework I had for that evening, and how much I could fit in after training
  4. Wondering what might be for dinner

My mind still works like that.  Processing a seemingly endless list of often unrelated things at any one time.  In fact, it only seems to have gotten worse since I began writing.  Now I actively encourage stories and characters to run around my mind while doing other tasks, in order for the ideas to grow.  This morning is a good example.  I got out of the shower with 2 new blog post ideas (including the first few paragraphs of each), the outline of an article I want to write, and a new wording for a scene that for no explicable reason popped into my head (not even from my WIP).

And it was only a 5 min shower.

I’m certainly not complaining – it’s the only way I can juggle so many different roles and projects, but it does make me appear a little vague sometimes.  Anyone else suffer from an overactive mind?

4 Responses to “Overactive Mind”


  1. 1 Kathleen Noud April 24, 2009 at 8:01 pm

    I would think most writers have an overactive mind. I was a really shy kid, so I think my imagination went crazy when I was growing up and now it’s just part of who I am.
    I’ve been tuning out halfway through conversations the whole week because I can’t stop thinking about my MS. Not exactly polite but most of them know I’m crazy anyway :D

  2. 2 Katherine Battersby April 25, 2009 at 6:09 pm

    It’s good to have people who ‘understand’! Yes, my friends and family are used to blank looks from me too, usually followed by me running off to get a notebook and pen.

  3. 3 Sandy May 4, 2009 at 1:08 am

    I do almost all my plotting in the shower! And the other half in the car on the way to the supermarket. The only two places I am ever alone enough to think. I once read a science article that said a shower kick-starts the brain – something to do with steam and ozygen levels – anyway, works for me *grin* Keep daydreaming…

  4. 4 Katherine Battersby May 4, 2009 at 9:19 am

    The car is my other creative hub, Sandy! How funny. I love the scientific shower explanation – I’ll be using that.

    For me it seems to happen during any activity I do regularly, where my body and brain goes into autopilot, therefore leaving my subconscious free to amble around my stories. Walking gives me the same space, as does doing the dishes.


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

