Happy Dancing

Rabbit - lookYou should be glad that this is a blog as opposed to a vlog (video blog) because today I am happy dancing.  It is something others should never have to witness, but I am more than happy to talk all about it. Legs are flying, arms are circling, and there’s a grin as big as pluto on my face. Why? Because I’ve had good news.

Bundaberg WriteFest has been making a name for itself by providing incredible opportunities for writers.  For the second year running they have run a competition where writers with a completed project could submit a query, sample pages and synopsis, with the chance of winning an interview with an editor or agent. I was one of the lucky writers whose project was chosen by Sophie Hamley, super agent with the Cameron Creswell Agency.

Sophie represents many children’s authors whose work I really admire, including Tristan Bancks and Aaron Blabey, as well as several wonderfully talented girls from my writer’s group. I’m incredibly excited to be able to meet her, and am really looking forward to learning from her wealth of knowledge and experience. I also get to attend the festival, the only problem being that I’ll have to choose which sessions to attend (they all look great).

So, I’ll be jetting off to coastal Bundy next weekend for a day immersed in writing. Care to join me in my happy dance?

Addendum: Late last night I found out that the editor also chose my project. This means I also get to meet with the delightful Kristina Schulz, the children’s editor from the University of Queensland Press. Although she has been upfront in saying that unfortunately my project does not suit their current publishing list, I can still benefit from her vast industry knowledge and editorial experience. What a whirlwind of a day!

13 Responses to “Happy Dancing”


  1. 1 Kathleen Noud May 8, 2009 at 7:17 pm

    FANTASTIC NEWS MY DARLING ASA CHICKIE!!!!!!
    I was going to ask you the other day if you were about to start submitting and now I know the answer! You’ll rock the pitch, I just know it ;) Best wishes!

  2. 2 Lynn Priestley May 8, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    Hey Kath – That’s fantastic news! Congratulations. You deserve it, having worked so hard. Doing the Happy Dance with doggies here…they say well done, too.

  3. 3 Karen Tyrrell May 8, 2009 at 9:01 pm

    Congrats Katherine! I’m doing the Happy Dance with you!!

  4. 4 janebretl May 8, 2009 at 10:04 pm

    Katherine, I’ve got the happy dance going for you here in Ohio! That is so exciting! You modestly say you were one of the “lucky” writers chosen, but I will chalk it up to hard work and talent creating your own luck.
    Have fun!
    Jane

  5. 5 Katherine Battersby May 9, 2009 at 6:45 am

    Thanks for all the lovely comments. I think I may be blushing a little. It’s so lovely to have such a supportive writing network in which to share the ups and downs!

  6. 6 Sheryl Gwyther May 9, 2009 at 7:13 am

    Hey, that’s brilliant news, Kath. The good vibes started yesterday morning before you went home, didn’t they????? :)

  7. 7 Katherine Battersby May 9, 2009 at 11:24 am

    Absolutely, Sheryl – I’ll happily give credit to my writing girls for aligning the good news universe for me!

  8. 8 JJ Cooper May 11, 2009 at 9:39 pm

    Congrats, Katherine. You’ll go great. Sophie is a wonderful agent and knows her stuff. Also represents some wonderful Aussie thriller writers. LOL. Good luck.

    JJ

  9. 9 Katherine Battersby May 12, 2009 at 2:33 pm

    Thanks JJ! I’ve been (quietly) following your blog for a while now. I first stumbled across it because my dream agent is Sophie, and you had just signed with her. I’ve loved watching you go from strength to strength – congrats!

  10. 10 chrisbongers May 13, 2009 at 6:08 pm

    Here I am, last with the news, but so happy for you anyway! I’m pretty sure my very favourite vampire writer, Jason Nahrung, is up at Bundy too, so say hello from me if your paths cross (then throw salt over your shoulder and scurry away with crucifix out thrust). ;)

  11. 11 Katherine Battersby May 14, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    Thanks Chris! And I’ll make sure to pack my garlic cloves…

  12. 12 Dee White May 15, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Congratulations Kath,

    I am happy dancing for you. Hope you have a fabulous weekend. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Dee:-)

  13. 13 Katherine Battersby May 17, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Thanks Dee! Am just about to write a post about the event…


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

