Good News!

I’m absolutely ecstatic to report that just today I have signed with Sophie Hamley, super agent with the Cameron Creswell Agency! I began researching agents about a year or two ago now, and to this day Sophie has remained at the very top of my list of ideal agents, which makes today even more exciting for me. I received the official e-mail and contract paperwork last night, and I believe I reacted in the following order:

  1. Smiled, then laughed, then maybe there was some whooping
  2. Danced with my puppy, who had run into the office due to all the commotion I was making
  3. Called my fiance, Mum and Julie (my writing partner)
  4. Replied to Sophie’s e-mail using more exclamation marks than should be allowed, just before…
  5. Running out the door for an emergency celebratory coffee with Julie!

I might make a more intelligent post about this whole process once I have calmed down a little. I’m far too jittery and smiley to do that just yet. Care to dance with me?

2009-06-05

21 Responses to “Good News!”


  1. 1 Julie Nickerson June 5, 2009 at 12:24 pm

    Glad to hear you’re still smiling! I’m glad I was available for the emergency celebratory coffee, but I really wish I’d been there to see the dancing with the dog. He’d be all feet!

    Keep smiling – you deserve it :-)

  2. 2 Karen Tyrrell June 5, 2009 at 12:25 pm

    WOW Katherine That’s fantastic News! Well done!
    It’ll taken you a few days to calm down but in the meantime bathe in your glory!… Karen

  3. 3 Sheryl Gwyther June 5, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    Of course it was only a matter of time, my friend! Wonderful news and you deserve it too. Enjoy your success!!! XX :) S

  4. 4 chrisbongers June 5, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Can’t think of a better recipient for a super-agent’s attention. Sophie Hamley must be all smiles too, adding you to her star-studded list of authors!

  5. 5 summer picnic June 5, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    What wonderful news! I bet landing an agent feels as good as finishing a book. Here’s to getting ready for the feeling of being published! Make room on the dance floor…

  6. 6 james roy June 5, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Yay you! Congrats, Katherine.

  7. 7 Sandy Fussell June 5, 2009 at 2:07 pm

    Way to go Kath :) May the sky rain carrots on you and your rabbit. Which translated means: I’m sure more success will soon follow. :)

  8. 8 Kathleen Noud June 5, 2009 at 4:49 pm

    Woot! Sure, I’ll dance with you! Hip Hop? Tango? A musical theatre number with feathers and sequins perhaps?

  9. 9 Katherine Battersby June 5, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    Thanks, everyone! It’s lovely having people to share good news with.

    Chris – I think Sophie is often all smiles, but I’m going to pretend I’ve contributed to that today! Sandy, you clearly speak rabbit, and we can only hope that if it ever rains carrots (oh happy day), that their pointy ends aren’t aiming down. Kathleen, can I request a musical theatre number? I’ll provide the soundtrack if you bring the sequins…

  10. 10 Lynn Priestley June 5, 2009 at 6:49 pm

    We’re all doing the Happy News Dance with you! Congratulations! Never had a doubt!

  11. 11 Katherine Battersby June 7, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Thanks Lynn! And thanks for all your support and encouragement :)

  12. 12 Angela Sunde June 7, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    This is amazingly good news!!! Worthy of heaps of exclamation marks. Sophie Hamley is the nicest. Go you and well done :)

  13. 13 Kathryn Apel June 7, 2009 at 6:47 pm

    Woohoo! Exciting news, Kath. Great to have you in the Cameron Creswell family. (I’m sure Sophie is smiling too!)

    As you can see, I still haven’t set up that Google Reader. I started… but something came up. (That’s why I’m checking in late – again!)

    Still, delighted to read your news – and your reactions.

  14. 14 Katherine Battersby June 7, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    Angela and Kathryn, I feel very lucky to be able to join you both within the Cameron Creswell fold :) Sophie has been an absolute delight, so I’m really looking forward to working with her.

  15. 15 Sarahlynn June 8, 2009 at 4:15 am

    Oh, congratulations!!! That’s fabulous news. :)

  16. 16 janebretl June 9, 2009 at 6:03 am

    Yippee skippee, Katherine! That is fantastic news! Happy dancing in Ohio in your honor,
    Jane

  17. 17 Katherine Battersby June 11, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Thanks Sarah! And welcome onto the dance floor Jane (thanks for your enthusiasm!)

  18. 18 Karen June 17, 2009 at 7:43 pm

    Katherine, that is simply amazing! I’ve knocked on a few agents’ doors over the last year or so with no luck, so I know how difficult a task it is. Congratulations! What a wonderful achievement. Savour the moment and enjoy your celebrations. I’d be dancing on the roof tops too :)

  19. 19 Katherine Battersby June 18, 2009 at 11:09 pm

    Thanks Karen! Keep on knocking – I promise you the right door will open one day.

  20. 20 Jennifer (Conversion Diary) June 21, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    Just now discovered your blog (via Rachelle Gardner’s) and wanted to drop a note to say congratulations!! Are you tempted to now work it into every single sentence (like “I’m going to the grocery store. MY AGENT mentioned the other day that she goes to the grocery store too.”) or is that just me? :)

  21. 21 Katherine Battersby June 21, 2009 at 6:21 pm

    Thanks Jennifer! I do have a little happy song that I’ve been known to break into at random times, which goes something like: ‘I’ve got an agent, I’ve got an agent’ but I try to keep this to when I’m home alone :)

    PS. Congrats on getting through that first draft! (I noticed you on Rachelle’s blog too)


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

