Illustration Monday

I’m playing with a couple of picture book ideas at the moment. Today I’ve been breathing new life into an old one I’ve rediscovered – the idea was fun, but the delivery was awful. So it’s been completely rewritten, and now I’m experimenting with illustration styles and character design. This is really my favourite part, because once the characters have come alive on the page, the story and words change too. In fact, the text often halves once I know how the images will work. I’ve gone through a few different styles and versions of the characters, but these are my favourites (although still very rough). Its working title is ‘The Not-Duck’.

Duck:

2009-06-29a

Not-Duck:

2009-06-29b

2009-06-29c

9 Responses to “Illustration Monday”


  1. 1 Karen Tyrrell June 29, 2009 at 3:54 pm

    Hi Katherine, I love your new illustrations and the concept of DUCK and NOT-DUCK. So cute and adorable. Kids will love these even more!

  2. 2 Karen June 29, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    The ducks (or not-ducks) are adorable!! I am green with envy. The only time I’d ever get to illustrate anything is if it requires stick figures that are decidedly out of proportion. Although my 3-year-old is still impressed, so I guess that’s something :) One of my secret desires is to enrol in an art course somewhere just for fun, and to see whether it’s possible to teach this not-so-old duck some new tricks.

  3. 3 Maryanne June 29, 2009 at 9:19 pm

    Lol these are really cool. Makes me wish even more now that I could draw!

  4. 4 Katherine Battersby June 30, 2009 at 10:36 am

    Thanks! Karen, you should enroll in an art class sometime. Creativity across its different forms (from writing and art to music and dance) are all interconnected, so I bet you’d find it would fuel your writing.

  5. 5 Kathleen Noud June 30, 2009 at 11:28 pm

    Too cute! I was thinking, it would be fun if you posted how you got into illustrating. Have you always done it and how did you find your style?

  6. 6 Katherine Battersby July 1, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion, Kathleen. You’ve got me reflecting on my journey now – will post on it soon!

  7. 7 Jeff July 5, 2009 at 5:37 am

    I love the simplicity. It’s very zen. Although a true zen book might just go, Duck, Duck, Duck, Duck, etc.

  8. 8 Kat Apel July 5, 2009 at 8:07 pm

    Kath, these are simply delightful. I can’t believe how you can make a black line expressive and cute. There’s nothing to it… Well – that’s how it looks when you do it!

    I can see why you’re having fun playing with new (and old) ideas.

  9. 9 Katherine Battersby July 6, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Thanks Jeff. Love the thought of a zen Duck! I keep having to resist the urge to write: duck, duck, goose

    Thanks Kat. My favourite illos are always those that are parred back and express so much in the simple flick or curve of a line. That’s what I try to create with my own characters, so I’m glad you feel it’s working!


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

