Red Nose Blues

Rabbit - exclamationI love working from home. You’ll never hear me complaining about it – writing and illustrating is my absolute dream job. But since cutting back on my other work commitments, I’ve realised there are some things about working from home I hadn’t considered.

Like the fact that home becomes your office and it’s near impossible to take time off without feeling guilty about not working. Now I have to leave the house if I want time out.

And the fact that weekends and weeknights are no longer sacred – work is all pervasive. Even bed time isn’t mine – ideas run rampant in the dark wee hours.

And the fact that even when I’m sick and need time off to just lie around the house trying to get better (and trying to breath), I still find myself at my computer attempting to work. Silliness, I tell you.

But not this day. I was made stubborn for a reason: I’m going to take my red nosed sniffling self downstairs, away from the office, and watch an old favourite movie (as recommended by a friend of mine). Writing can wait until another day.

But there’s no stopping the ideas … (wicked Dr Claw style laughter)

5 Responses to “Red Nose Blues”


  1. 1 Lynn Priestley July 11, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I hope you are feeling better soon, you poor love. Sometimes you just have to let go of that drive in order to stay in the race. Rest up and get well and no sneaking back up those stairs – you hear? Not until bed time…

  2. 2 Sheryl Gwyther July 12, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Yes, my girl ;), as Lynn says it pays to have a break when you’re sick. 1. to stop your germs sneezing all over the keyboard and screen; and 2. to rest your mind a little, it’ll be even sparkier when you’re feeling better.

  3. 3 Karen Tyrrell July 13, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Hi Katherine, Hope you’re feeling better and that watching The Movie and taking time out to recoup helped your recovery!… Don’t worry…Those wonderful stories and illustrations will be waiting for you!

  4. 4 Kathleen Noud July 13, 2009 at 10:51 am

    I know the feeling. Time off and relaxation are not my strong point. But I live for stories, so mental health be damned!

    Just watched the trailer for 9 as well! I know what I’ll be doing on 09-09-09 :D

  5. 5 Katherine Battersby July 13, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    Thanks for the sympathy! Feeling a little better today, and slowly getting back into writing. It’s strange and yet wonderful to have a job that I actually want to keep doing even while sick! I feel very lucky to have found writing and illustrating – I know you all feel the same.


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

