Little Monsters

It’s that time of year in Brisbane again. Festival season. Every time I turn around, there’s another writer’s event to attend. Cocktail parties, conferences, dinners, talks, debates and everything in between. Not that you’ll find me complaining – any excuse to mingle with others passionate about children’s literature – but I may be a little quiet on this blog over the next week. You can be sure that when I do get back I’ll have plenty to talk about…

In the meantime, I’ll leave you with some images from my latest picture book project: a few little monsters who have literally been running riot around my mind.

2009-09-09a

2009-09-09b

2009-09-09c

5 Responses to “Little Monsters”


  1. 1 Lynn Priestley September 9, 2009 at 8:53 pm

    They are adorable – how could you not love them little critters running amok in your head? Fingers crossed for you for CYA. C U Soon.

  2. 2 Julie Nickerson September 9, 2009 at 9:15 pm

    Ooh, they look even more gorgeous now that they have colour! I want my own Muddle with a floaty ring :-)

  3. 3 Sharim September 10, 2009 at 8:14 am

    Ah brilliant! Definitely love the floatation device

  4. 4 Katherine Battersby September 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

    Thanks guys! I always loved pool toys – I had a dragon / horse floaty thing when I was six that’s obviously been sitting in my subconscious ever since.


  1. 1 Little Monsters (1989) | Old Old Films Trackback on July 3, 2011 at 10:33 am

Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

