A Very Happy Birthday

Rabbit - playWriters often talk about The Call. That wonderful phone call they got with the news that they were going to be published. I’ve always loved reading those stories. Now I have my own to tell.

I had sort of been warned that The Call was coming. My picture book was on submission in the US, and my Australian agent had said the deadline for offers was on Thursday – we both assumed this meant US time, so translated that to mean Friday here in Oz. So I was prepared. Ready to be cool and calm. Thursday was my birthday, and I had woken up to flowers from my fiance and had just finished breakfast when my mobile rang. A completely unsuspecting Katherine picked it up.

It was my Australian agent with news of offers. It turns out the deadline was actually Wednesday US time, so Thursday here. There was lots of jumping and whooping and dancing and plenty of giggling (I’m an unashamed giggler, but usually only after a few drinks). So I got The Call on my birthday. There really is no better birthday gift. And for the first time, I got good news while my fiance was at home with me, so I had someone to jump around with.

So, I’m now thrilled to say that I have a two book contract with Penguin US (Viking Imprint). I have spoken with the editor there, who is an absolute delight and the kind of editor I’ve always dreamed of working with. She has many years of experience nurturing writers and stories, helping them to be the best they can be. Viking has also been a strong influence on my love of books: they produced many of my childhood favourites, so it’s a lovely feeling that I’ll get to work with them and one day be a part of their list.

I feel like I’m walking around inside a bubble. But I also still feel just like me. Today I’m back in the house on my own, sitting in my office with my puppy asleep on my feet, working away on a novel redraft and my latest picture book project. Still the same girl.

But with a big smile on my face.

15 Responses to “A Very Happy Birthday”


  1. 1 Karen September 19, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Kath, I am so very excited for you! Although I haven’t known you for very long, it’s obvious that you are not only exceptionally talented, but also dedicated and willing to put in the hard yards. I’m sure this is just the beginning of a long and wonderful career for you. Congratulations and enjoy the moment. That’s one birthday you’re never going to forget. :)

  2. 2 chrisbongers September 19, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Kath, you so deserve this. Soak it up. xx

  3. 3 Sandy Fussell September 19, 2009 at 1:35 pm

    I would say it was a great time to giggle. In fact I’m ‘sharing the giggles’ and there’s nothing wrong with that!!! I am so thrilled for you and Squish. PS Happy birthday too

  4. 4 Kathleen Noud September 19, 2009 at 3:14 pm

    I can’t stop smiling at your news either! Many congratulations!

  5. 5 Katherine Battersby September 19, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks for all your lovely words! I feel so spoilt having such a supportive network of friends.

  6. 6 Lynn Priestley September 19, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    OMG I missed all the excitement! Congrats to you. Squish has gone forth and conquered~ YAH Team!

  7. 7 Angela Sunde September 19, 2009 at 7:44 pm

    Actually like a typical rabbit, Squish has gone forth and multiplied – a 2 book deal. Woo hoo!

  8. 8 Katherine Battersby September 20, 2009 at 7:59 am

    Thanks Lynn! And thanks for always believing in me, even when I didn’t. Your support has meant a lot (sorry for getting all sentimental in amongst the excitement!)

    Angela, I burst out laughing at your comment. Multiplying rabbit manuscripts – ha!

  9. 9 tara September 23, 2009 at 6:12 am

    Congratulations! I look forward to hearing more about your book!

  10. 10 Madeline September 23, 2009 at 8:45 am

    Kath,
    Congratulations! I want a copy when the first book comes out (or at least the information about when it comes out so i can go buy it).

    Madeline

    P.S. I will have a new little one in April to read it to! :)

  11. 11 Katherine Battersby September 23, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Thanks Tara. It’ll be hard to avoid hearing about it if you hang out here – I’m that excited!

    Mady – you have your own congratulations due! That’s wonderful news! Seeing as you’ll be having an easter baby, a rabbit picture book might be just the thing :)

  12. 12 misshelenwrites October 4, 2009 at 7:11 pm

    Hi Katherine. I know you told me that you got the book contract when I spoke with you at the Baci Coffee Lounge but I didn’t realise you found out on your birthday. What a lovely pressie.
    Also congrats on your blog listing. Well done! Hope the rabbits are happy with that. They deserve some extra carrots.
    Helen

  13. 13 Katherine Battersby October 5, 2009 at 2:46 pm

    Thanks Helen. Yes, quite the perfect birthday present (although the bag my fiance got me is stunning!). The rabbits are very pleased with the news all round – they like the lime light. Am just about to put up a post about the blog listing…


  1. 1 A Sentimental Moment « the Well Read Rabbit || Katherine Battersby Trackback on September 29, 2009 at 1:45 pm
  2. 2 Writing to Contract « the Well Read Rabbit || Katherine Battersby Trackback on October 31, 2011 at 8:57 am

Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

