The Magician’s Elephant

2009-10-13We all have them. Books we wish we’d written. And for me, there is no other author that has written more of them than Kate DiCamillo. She writes the kind of books I can only dream of creating:

The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane

The Tiger Rising

The Tale of Despereaux

If you haven’t read them, do it. Now. I’m not certain how she does it, but she fills each of her tales with such magic and wonder and heart aching truth. She’s really quite brilliant. And it would seem she’s done it again with The Magician’s Elephant:

I could cry for wanting to read this book…

7 Responses to “The Magician’s Elephant”


  1. 1 Karen October 13, 2009 at 3:32 pm

    I haven’t read Kate DiCamillo but I will set about to rectify that situation as quickly as possible! As for books that I wish I’d written, for picture books I just can’t go past the Frances Watts/David Legge partnership. I have a similar feeling of wanting to cry when I look at the way they craft their picture books and wish I’d written every single one of them. Maybe it’s because we see a kernel of our own style in how they write? That’s my optimistic perspective on it anyway :P

  2. 2 Misrule October 13, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    I’ve read it. It is a small, perfect gem. You’ll love it.

  3. 3 Katherine Battersby October 13, 2009 at 4:31 pm

    Gorgeous PBs, Karen. I think when I read Kate’s books I’m reminded of the reasons why I write and the ways in which I’d like to move my readers.

    Judith, thanks for popping by! I’m off to rustle up a copy as soon as is humanely possible…

  4. 4 Lynn Priestley October 13, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Books we wish we’d written – I’m feeling that way about The Book Thief right now. I had a copy but packed it. So I borrowed a library copy and I think I may have lost it – cause I have NO clue where it went between yesterday and today. So I went out and bought it again today – cause I just have to finish it.

    I have read the first chapter of The Magician’s Elephant – and it will be a book I will buy and keep. It’s totally magical writing.

  5. 5 Sandy Fussell October 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    If I had a writing hero it would be Kate DiCamillo. The day a friend gave me The Tale of Despereaux was the night a little magic (and a very small mouse) sneaked into my office. The little pottery mouse still sits on shelf overlooking my laptop as I write.

  6. 6 fabio October 13, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    fabio is not smart, and has not read many books. this is ok because fabio is beautiful. but fabio has read edward tulane, and he is happy to say he cried like thirteen year old girl at end.

  7. 7 Katherine Battersby October 14, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Oh Lynn, The Book Thief is absolutely another I wish I’d written. The way Zusak plays with language – to die for.

    Sandy, I first saw The Magician’s Elephant on your blog, so I already knew I had a kindred DiCamillo spirit in you :)

    My dear Fabio, I knew that there had to be a softy buried deep inside of someone who maintains so much luscious blond hair.


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

