Mug Shot

I grew up with a mum who, on special occasions, always asked for something hand made rather than store bought. I made her all sorts of things throughout childhood – 3D cards, dolls, picture frames, letter holders, decorated mirrors, board games. This tradition has continued into my adulthood and each year I try to come up with new ways to keep it going. Often mum gets the original paintings of new characters I’m creating or stories I’m experimenting with, but this Christmas I decided to do something a bit different.

Here is the result:

I have a few Squish Rabbit mugs left over, so when the book is released I might just run a competition where you could win yourself one…

PS. Sorry it’s taken me a while to get back into the whole blogging swing. I don’t want to make excuses, but I do have a great one if you want to hear it. I’m currently in the middle of moving interstate, packing, organising to rent out our house, planning a wedding and rewriting a novel for my agent. Can you say irrationally stressed?

20 Responses to “Mug Shot”


  1. 1 Lynn Priestley January 15, 2010 at 3:00 pm

    I love them! What a great gift! Hope all is going to plan. Be kind to yourself. It will all work out! xxx

  2. 2 Carol Warner January 15, 2010 at 3:02 pm

    Aww…too cute, Katherine :) Good luck with the move, the wedding and the book.

  3. 3 Joanna Gaudry January 15, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    So cute. All the best with your move, novel, and the wedding, Katherine.

  4. 4 Sheryl Gwyther January 15, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    Brilliant, Kath!!! I want one! :) Remember to write as soon as you settle into your new abode. XX
    Sheryl

  5. 5 Julie Nickerson January 15, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Too cute! That mug would go nicely with my bookmark … look forward to the comp!
    Hope the packing is going well :-)

  6. 6 Michael January 15, 2010 at 5:49 pm

    They’re fantastic Kath. I’ll be in Adelaide a couple of times later on in the year when you’ve settled in. Would be great to catch up.

  7. 7 misshelenwrites January 15, 2010 at 6:03 pm

    How gorgeous! What a lovely idea for presents. All the best with your move Katherine, and may 2010 be a fantastic one for you.

  8. 8 Sharim January 15, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    Me Me me!!!!!! Where is mine!!!!!!

  9. 9 Angela Sunde January 15, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I’m going to win this comp. I sooo want a mug.

    Grin :)

  10. 10 Hannah Wilson January 16, 2010 at 3:42 am

    Oh Katherine! They’re so cool. I want one. Hope you enjoy Adelaide.

  11. 11 Tina C January 16, 2010 at 7:40 am

    Hey Kath

    Wow those are realllly nice. And so personalized too.

    Hope your mum was happy with hers, and I’m sure when Squish comes out, your readers will be scrambling to get their hands on one too.

    Good luck with your packing!

    Bye 4 now
    Tina

  12. 12 Debbie Johansson January 16, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    These are gorgeous Katherine, and great promotion idea. Sounds like you’ll be keeping yourself busy this year. Hope it all goes well for you. I’ll be thinking of you!

  13. 13 deescribewriting January 16, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    Kath, the bunnies were hopping around with excitement when they saw these mugs – hope your comp will be open to rabbits:-)

  14. 14 Katherine Battersby January 17, 2010 at 9:13 am

    Thanks for all the enthusiasm guys! I’ll let you know about the comp later in the year…

    Michael – definitely let me know when you’ll be in Adelaide, as I’d love to catch up.

  15. 15 Trudie Trewin January 18, 2010 at 10:14 pm

    I’m amazed you have time to even breathe with all that going on Kath! The mugs are gorgeous, I’ll be in on the comp too.
    Cheers :-)

  16. 16 katswhiskers January 19, 2010 at 9:05 am

    Kath they are delightful! I am a sentimental sort like your Mum – and I couldn’t think of a nicer gift. Stunningly beautiful.

    You certainly sound busy. Remember to look after you too. xx

  17. 17 lauradoyle January 31, 2010 at 3:48 pm

    Hi Katherine,

    You should make heaps more of these and sell them. I would want to complete set even if I never read your book (although, I’m definitely looking forward to reading that too.

  18. 18 Jenny January 31, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    Sounds like I should just put mine up for sale on this site, Auction Time! :P Just kidding, it’s too cute to sell!

  19. 19 Savannah Hendricks February 1, 2010 at 1:43 am

    I love the mugs as well and what a great blog!!! I’m happy for your new adventure in life…we all need them every now and then!

  20. 20 Katherine Battersby February 1, 2010 at 5:00 pm

    Thanks again for all the lovely comments – you’re all so good to me.

    Jenny, you make me laugh – that is so the business woman in you!


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

