Short and Scary

Up for a bit of creepiness? I hope so, because Black Dog Books is just about to release their latest anthology, Short and Scary. It’s a book that promises to be full of ‘a whole lot of creepy stories and other chilling stuff’, and it’s not wrong. Ghosties and ghoulies and monsters and all sorts of freakiness crawls over each and every page.

How do I know? Because one of my stories is featured between the pages. Just today I received my advance copy, and enjoyed seeing Haunted alongside stories written by so many authors and illustrators I admire, such as Shaun Tan, Sally Rippin, James Moloney, Gabrielle Wang, Carole Wilkinson, Andy Griffiths, Terry Denton, James Roy and the list goes on. It’s also thrilling to share the pages with many good friends of mine (girls, you know who you are). I encourage you to go grab yourself a copy, not just because it’s a great read, but also because all proceeds will be donated to a really worthwhile charity called Big Brothers Big Sisters, who provide a much needed youth mentoring program.

As an aside, I haven’t blogged much lately because I’ve been quite busy – not with my usual writing, but writing articles and preparing talks…

  • I was recently the featured author in Writing Queensland, the QLD Writers Centre magazine, which involved an interview
  • I was approached by the ACT Writers Centre and asked to contribute an article on picture books to one of their upcoming magazines
  • July 14th-16th I’ll be speaking at Whitsunday Voices, giving talks and illustration workshops to grades 2-4 and 9-12
  • July 17th I’ll be doing a talk on Making Picture Books for the Gold Coast Writers’ Association (non-members are welcome to attend too)

There’s nothing I enjoy more than speaking about writing and illustrating, and I’m really looking forward to doing some more speaking events. So I’ve been busy, but happy. Although I will enjoy getting back to my new novel…

13 Responses to “Short and Scary”

  1. 1 Karen Tyrrell March 29, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Hi Katherine,
    I’m so proud of you. You’re going from strength to with your article writing and public speaking. And best of all “Haunted”, your short story is published in the Short and Scary anthology.
    Congratulations on all your sucesses.
    Cheers, Karen :))

  2. 2 Katherine Battersby March 29, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    Thanks Karen. I’ve also been enjoying watching your career take off – especially with all you’ve been doing for the writers in your community. Good on you!

  3. 3 Tina C March 29, 2010 at 5:40 pm

    Hey Katherine

    Sooo can’t wait to read that Short & Scary book – my boys will have to stand behind me as I’m first!

    Quiet – you – never…even when you are not blogging we know you are moving around, writing, drawing, doing ‘stuff’!

    See ya soon I hope. Miss you being so far away.

    Bye 4 now

  4. 4 Joanna Gaudry March 29, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    Wow! You are one busy, talented lady, Katherine. Congratulations on continuing success as a writer, illustrator, speaker, and person extraordinaire. Joanna :))

  5. 5 Kathleen Noud March 29, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Oooh, I love the cover! And such an impressive list of authors too. Congrats, girl :)

  6. 6 Helen Ross March 29, 2010 at 6:52 pm

    Congratulations Katherine. Can’t wait to get hold of a copy – I love creepy stories. Also great news that lots of other good things have been happening for you in the writing and illustrating world. All the best – Helen

  7. 7 Lynn Priestley March 29, 2010 at 8:19 pm

    Looking forward to a good scary read!

  8. 8 Angela Sunde March 29, 2010 at 8:42 pm

    Fabulous cover, Katherine. I am so happy for you and proud.There is a year of exciting events in store ahead for you and I am so looking forward to the Gold Coast talk. Congrats Angela

  9. 9 Lorraine Marwood March 29, 2010 at 8:53 pm

    Katherine, its a great book- I look forward to reading your entry- I’m savoring the book for a long stretch of time on a flight bound for the UK next week- I was pleased to be in such honoured company n the collection too.
    Well done with all your recent successes.

  10. 10 Debbie Johansson March 30, 2010 at 10:24 am

    You got my attention with the word ‘scary’. Congratulations! It’s good to hear that your writing career is really taking off.

  11. 11 Katherine Battersby March 30, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Thanks all! It has been a big year, and I’m really enjoying each twist and turn my life is taking. Thanks again for the support and encouragement.

    PS. Tina, I miss you too, and all my writing girls…

    PPS. Lorraine, loved your delightfully creepy poem, and congrats on the CBCA notable!

  12. 12 Susan March 31, 2010 at 10:19 am

    Congratulations Katherine. I loved your piece in WQ and it led me to check out your blog. Your writer/illustrator journey is an inspiration!

  13. 13 Katherine Battersby April 1, 2010 at 8:51 am

    Thanks Susan – that really means a lot to me. And thanks for stopping by – I can see I’ll enjoy reading through your lovely blog too.

Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:


Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

