Writing Races

If you haven’t already heard, Australian Writer’s Marketplace online runs Writing Race forums: a fun and inspiring kind of online writing group for members. They get together on the internet on Tuesday nights to set their goals, working on their own projects offline for one hour during the race. For about half an hour before and after the race there’s also a chance to discuss your projects, the craft of writing and any other industry gossip. People rave about this online writing group, and I’m incredibly excited to say that this Tuesday 11th May I’ve been invited as a special guest racer. At 8pm QLD time I’ll be revved up and ready to write, working away on my latest young adult project during the hour. I’m also really keen to talk all things writing with the other racers, and I’d love to see you all there!

Here are some incentives to come along:

  1. I’m a painfully slow writer, so there’ll be at least one person there you’ll beat
  2. I’ll bring virtual chocolates and I have been known to share
  3. I don’t drink coffee (even cyber coffee), so there’ll be more there for you
  4. You’ll get a guaranteed hour of dedicated writing time

Click on the image below for more details about the races:

6 Responses to “Writing Races”


  1. 1 Joanna Gaudry May 10, 2010 at 11:25 am

    Good on you, Katherine. Wish I could ‘be there’, but I’ve only just sent in a cheque to renew my membership. It might take them another week to put me back up as a member. I enjoy the AWMOnline writing races. No pressure to ‘race’ — just a nice, relaxed online writing/editing/meeting space for writers. Joanna :))

  2. 2 Karen Tyrrell May 10, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Hi Katherine,
    Congratulations on your invitation to be Special Guest Racer in the AWM online Writing Races tomorrow night.
    I know you’ll do a Fabulous job, encouraging Writers and answering their questions.
    Cheers, Karen :))

  3. 3 Katherine Battersby May 11, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Thanks Joanna. Such a shame you wont be there! Looking forward to my first race (and I’m very glad to hear there’s no pressure).

    Thanks Karen. Like most of us writers, there’s nothing I love more than connecting with other writers and talking craft, so I think I may actually be more excited about that than the actual writing!

  4. 4 therottenperson May 17, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    This is such a neat idea for writers trying to connect with other people who have similar goals. Do you know if there is anything like this for writers in the States?

  5. 5 Katherine Battersby May 18, 2010 at 10:33 am

    RottenPerson (who I doubt is rotten at all) – I’m not sure about the States. There must be something like this over there. Although the great thing about the internet is it doesn’t really matter where you are. I know there are online support groups for writers – you could start looking at Yahoo groups or hanging out on local writing blogs where they often discuss such things. Good luck!

  6. 6 therottenperson May 18, 2010 at 2:26 pm

    Great advice – thanks!


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

