Power of Suggestion

I finished editing a story the other day. It’s an early reader I first wrote a few years ago and it’s been through many drafts and rewrites. Settings have changed. Characters have been edited out. Darlings have been murdered. I sent it off to my agent and planned to put it out of my head until I heard her thoughts. I was going to be incredibly sensible about it all. ‘I’m not going to draw the characters,’ I told myself. ‘I’ll wait and see if there’s any interest in it first’.

Along comes my writing partner. ‘Have you started illustrating it yet?’ she says. I told her no (loudly), and repeated that I was being horribly sensible about it all. But my characters heard her. After that simple question, the mere suggestion of illustrating, they wouldn’t leave me alone. Talk about a riot. They pestered me until I had to draw them just to get them out of my head. And who would have thought, after I got over the self-doubt this illustration project stirred up (see my last post) I actually had some fun too.

Who needs ‘sensible’ anyway? And if the story doesn’t go anywhere, I’m still practicing and developing my style and getting more confident with each pen stroke. You’ll find some of the riot below…

7 Responses to “Power of Suggestion”


  1. 1 Julie Nickerson May 31, 2010 at 1:37 pm

    Glad you’ve crossed over to the ‘not sensible’ side. It’s fun over here :-)

  2. 2 deescribewriting May 31, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    Wow Kath, they are fantastic. I’m with Jules…forget sensible:-)

  3. 3 deescribewriting May 31, 2010 at 1:47 pm

    Actually, Kath, I’m off to write a story about a goat. Now who suggested that, lol?

  4. 4 Carol Warner May 31, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Just fabulous, Katherine!

  5. 5 Debbie Johansson May 31, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Hi Katherine. Good to see that you’ve got over all your doubts. I love seeing your illustrations – as others have said they are uniquely you. Don’t ever give up!

  6. 6 Lynn June 1, 2010 at 9:15 am

    These are just beautiful. It makes me scratch my head to think that you think that you aren’t good at this! Well…actually you aren’t good at it. You are EXCEPTIONAL at it. (Take THAT – lingering shades of doubt)

    Keep ’em comin’!
    xx

  7. 7 Katherine Battersby June 1, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Thanks girls! It feels good to be drawing again. I think it’s so important to try new things and challenge yourself, even if it does stir up self-doubt sometimes.

    Dee, so glad to see you’re suggestible too! (Go Molly goat!)


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

