Shhh… Deadline Looming

This is a bit of an apology really. Because all has been quiet on the Western Front (aka. my blog) for a while now. Posts have been sporadic at best, even though I’ve had plenty of things I’d love to blog about. But I do have a good excuse, if you’re willing to listen…

I have been holed up in my writerly burrow, working to deadline on book 2. I’ve been researching the shape of a squirrel’s paws, quietly observing the oddities of chickens, and creeping back into the mind of one very small rabbit. What fun.

Once I can carve out a little more time, I’ll be back on the blogosphere with posts about:

  1. The Melbourne launch of Squish Rabbit (Saturday 5th November)
  2. What it’s like writing to contract
  3. Creating a picture book series
  4. Pictures of strange rabbits (which I’ve been collecting on my travels)
But for now, please accept this peace offering – a sneaky peak illustration that may just end up in book 2:
Now I’d better get back to it, otherwise I may end up like Mr Hitchihiker’s Guide to the Galaxy…

I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by  …..~  Douglas Adams

8 Responses to “Shhh… Deadline Looming”


  1. 1 Scott Chambers October 13, 2011 at 12:01 pm

    Thank you on two counts. Firstly, for confirming that there is more Squish (and as yet un-named friends) to come, and secondly, for mentioning Douglas. I don’t think of him nearly enough these days, and sorely miss his unique take on the world and its inhabitants (however transient).

    • 2 Katherine Battersby October 13, 2011 at 8:40 pm

      Thanks for the enthusiasm Scott :) I know what you mean about D.Adams – it’s been a while since I’ve read his ‘trilogy in 4 parts’ but I still quote him regularly. An amazing / quirky / surreal / funny writer

  2. 3 holygoatboy October 13, 2011 at 1:32 pm

    And then there is this:

    “Are you aware that rushing toward a goal is a sublimated death wish? It’s no coincidence we call them ‘deadlines.”
    ― Tom Robbins, Author “Even Cowgirls get the Blues”

    So breath…… now :)

  3. 5 writingclassesforkids October 17, 2011 at 6:38 pm

    Gorgeous, Kath. My boys gave this Squishy pic their seal of approval:)

    Dee x

    P.S. Pickachew and Cosi want to know where Squish found a carrot that size:)

  4. 7 Scott Chambers October 18, 2011 at 7:55 am

    Most importantly tho Kath, “Don’t Panic!” (sorry, couldn’t find a friendly pink font). Whenever I come across Razz (in the Ishmael series) I am reminded of the other “Big Z” (as in Zaphod). Douglas’ “Meaning of Liff” dictionaries are also worth browsing, and no endangered Rabbit should be without a copy of “Last Chance to See” =) … but enough about other authors already, GO SQUISH! =P


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

