Happy Hoppy Easter

Having nursed a long and healthy obsession with rabbits, Easter holds a very special place in my heart. I’m almost equally passionate about chocolate, which may also help. But Easter is particularly special for me now, having my first book out about a little bunny. So Squish and I would both like to wish you all a very happy and hoppy Easter.

I’m thrilled to see that many have been giving Squish Rabbit as a gift to their favourite little people this Easter:

  • Over at Lavender & Lilies one very thoughtful mum has put together an Easter basket for her little girl (take a look – just delightful!)
  • My Book Corner have done a lovely review of Squish Rabbit, as well as named him as one of the best Easter books
  • The Little Big Book Club are featuring Squish all April
  • My wonderful publishers, UQP, have also been twittering Easter competitions where you can win copies of Squish Rabbit

And to top it all off, look what just arrived in the mail:

The print proofs for Brave Squish Rabbit, plus two galleys (unbound mock-ups). I am thrilled to bits with how it’s turned out! So much so that I’m even willing to use exclamation marks!! Considering the first book is all about white space, I made it quite hard for myself by setting book two at night. It meant I had to develop a more complex colour palette, working hard to create space and balance. I love how it’s come up on paper – seeing Squish swimming in all those colours. I might give you a few more sneaky peeks at the interiors as the publishing date of September approaches.

In the mean time, though, I’d better hop off to find some chocolate that I hear a very special festive bunny has left for me around the house…

5 Responses to “Happy Hoppy Easter”


  1. 1 shewrite63 April 6, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    I just ordered a copy of your book :o) This may revive my own obsession with rabbits. Oops!

    I look forward to reading it and admiring your illustrations. That rabbit is ooo cute! Oh, I plan to eventually give the book to a little person… my kids are too old.

    Wishing you a happy, hoppy Easter too.

    T

  2. 3 Jessie Heninger April 11, 2012 at 9:22 am

    My kids fell in love with your book at the library. I realized it was the perfect thing for their Easter baskets. I bought the book for them to share and then made one of my boys a “squish rabbit” softee and the other a “squish squirrel” They love having the book and the animals. http://www.jessies-confessions.blogspot.com if your interested in seeing them.

    • 4 Katherine Battersby April 13, 2012 at 12:41 pm

      Oh Jessie, that is so incredibly sweet! I’m thrilled you and your boys enjoyed Squish, and so touched that you even went to the effort of making Squishy toys. They are just gorgeous. You can tell your little one that ‘squish squirrel’ has his very own name [revealed in Brave Squish Rabbit, the second book] which is Twitch :)

      Thank you so much for sending me the link to your blog.

  3. 5 Jessie Heninger April 16, 2012 at 4:18 am

    Thank you so much. We love good books!


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

