Visual Diary #7

It’s been a while since I’ve updated this blog with the latest scribblings from my visual diary. My creative work is more focussed on novel writing at the moment (more on that soon), as well as another project that you will see below. Even so, images are always forming in my mind and sometimes, if I’m lucky, I can grab a sliver of time to trap them on the page…

A little voodoo doll who has been following me around for a while, and whose story I hope to make into a graphic novel one day:

The way I felt when amongst the crowds of the Woodford Folk Festival this year:

Not exactly a visual diary page, but another creative project I’ve been working on. The latest stop motion trial I have done for my Brave Squish Rabbit book trailer:

For now I’m packing my creative tools (visual diary, iPad, notes) into a suitcase and heading off to Darwin for this year’s WordStorm. I’ll be doing a number of school visits, as well as a reading in the kids’ program and doing a full day workshop (for adults) all about making picture books. You can check out the program here – if you’re in the area I hope to see you there! Wish me luck avoiding the crocs…

4 Responses to “Visual Diary #7”


  1. 1 chhopsky May 8, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    because i follow so many content sources, i don’t notice when one doesn’t update. so when you do, it’s like ‘oh i remember, yes’ and i’m reminded just how good at this you are.

    spoiler alert: very

  2. 3 heavenlynest May 8, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Katherine, you are just way too clever for one person. I cannot wait for the final book, and book trailer!! And the voodoo doll – oh my. I see wonderful things for her. *sigh* I wish my sketchbooks looked that lovely…

    • 4 Katherine Battersby May 16, 2012 at 3:49 pm

      Tina, you have no idea how much your words mean to me. It’s still a little surreal to think I’m lucky enough to now count you as a friend, when for all those years as an aspiring author/illustrator I was marvelling at your gorgeous books and wishing I could be even half as clever a storyteller as you. So thank you x


Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

