Inside an Illustrator’s Head

So I’ve been working on a new picture book. And for the first time in a while, this one is not about a little rabbit named Squish. The other day my mum asked me what Squish thought about being ejected from my mind for another character. I think he’s coping, but he’s definitely curious about ‘the new guy’ and is reserving judgement.

This is a bit what it all looks like…

It’s a strange thing to have a little blue pig romping around your mind. A strange and wonderful thing. I’m not sure where he will take me just yet, but I’m certainly enjoying getting to know him.

I also thought I’d better put up another photo, in response to this one from my last post:

There’s been a bit of contention as to what’s real. I labelled it as Squish Rabbit reading his own book while wearing a giraffe beanie. After all, it was a cold weekend in Brisbane. Some questioned whether I was being ridiculous (and to be honest, this does happen sometimes) and felt that this was actually just a giraffe toy pretending to be Squish. But here is photo evidence that the giraffe beanie does indeed exist:

I wore it at the Ekka yesterday. In public. And took a photo. I suppose this also serves as evidence that I am sometimes ridiculous.

8 Responses to “Inside an Illustrator’s Head”


  1. 1 Dimity Powell August 17, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    Riduculous but sublime :-D

  2. 3 Tania McCartney August 26, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    Can’t wait to meet your blue pig!

  3. 5 wordswithnannaprawn September 27, 2012 at 10:15 am

    Thankful that I am a Nanna with a Grandson and therefore have a legit reason to buy a childrens book (I think we’ll both enjoy Squish)….and I have taken note of your bio and resisted the use of exclamation marks.

    • 6 Katherine Battersby October 9, 2012 at 8:33 am

      Oh I know what you mean – kidless little me buys kids books and goes to see kiddie movies all the time. Now at least I can tell people I’m a children’s author and it’s all in the names of ‘research’ :) PS. Well done on avoiding exclamation marks (I tend to loathe them in books, but say use them with abandon in communications!)


  1. 1 Inside an Illustrator’s Head | Books Books Books | Scoop.it Trackback on August 26, 2012 at 2:07 pm
  2. 2 Inside an Illustrator’s Head | Australian Children's Authors | Scoop.it Trackback on August 26, 2012 at 7:22 pm

Leave a Reply

About this Blog…

A blog of ramblings about the world of writing and illustrating for children, by an author / illustrator who might just have a thing for rabbits.

Katherine's picture books, 'Squish Rabbit' and 'Brave Squish Rabbit', are out with Viking (Penguin, US) and UQP (Australia). Please e-mail if you would like her to blog about something in particular.

All text & images  Katherine Battersby

Released Sept 2012:

Available:

Author Talks

Speakers Ink
Creative Net

